June 22, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!



The twenty-second studio album from long running heavy metal legends MOTÖRHEAD is titled ‘Bad Magic’, and nobody jams harder than Lemmy Kilmister in 2015. Despite the fact that the sixty nine year old bassist/vocalist has definitely seen his better days, having suffered declining health due to rocking too goddamn hard for four decades, this collection of whiskey-soaked rockers will surely get your heart beating faster. Produced by Cameron Webb, the hard charging ‘take no prisoners’ attitude is still as prevalent in this band’s music today as it ever has been. The party starts off with the storming “Victory Or Die”, followed by the absolutely balls to the walls “Thunder & Lightning”, that finds guitarist Phil Campbell and drummer Mikkey Dee at their all time best. I don’t know how it’s possible, but the ‘vibe’ on this record is even heavier than 2013’s ‘Aftershock’.

“Shoot Out All Of Your Lights” hits you square in the face next, followed by “The Devil”, that offers up a great up-tempo groove, not to mention it features a guest guitar solo by Brian May of QUEEN. Up next is the slamming “Fire Storm Hotel”. “Don’t tell me who I am, I don’t give a damn!”, Lemmy sings on track six’s brilliant “Electricity”. The ass kicking momentum never slows up, and Lemmy certainly steps it up with “Evil Eye”, “Teach Them How To Bleed”, and “Till The End”. How good is this album? They could have cut it off right here and this bad muthatrucker would easily be in the running for best of the year. But this is Lemmy after all, he’s got more ‘gusto’ left in his gas tank at nearly 70 than most do at half his age. The head banging greatness reaches another level, with “Tell Me Who To Kill”, which is undoubtedly my favorite track on the record. “Choking On Your Screams” and “When The Sky Comes Looking For You” keep the buzz going. The album concludes with a totally killer cover of “Sympathy For The Devil” by THE ROLLING STONES. Lemmy’s gritty voice is much more suited for this classic tune than Mick Jagger’s. I think it captures the spirit of what this all time great has always been about, taking it to the edge and doing things meaner and badder than anyone else in rock n roll history.


Five Stars
MOTÖRHEAD – “Bad Magic” (CD)


1. Victory Or Die
2. Thunder & Lightning
3. Fire Storm Hotel
4. Shoot Out All Of Your Lights
5. The Devil
6. Electricity
7. Evil Eye
8. Teach Them How To Bleed
9. Till The End
10. Tell Me Who To Kill
11. Choking On Your Screams
12. When The Sky Comes Looking For You
13. Sympathy For The Devil (THE ROLLING STONES cover)