PANTERA – “Far Beyond Driven” Logo Generator

“Come on with yer come on!”

PANTERA’s 1994 platinum selling album “Far Beyond Driven”  turned 25 today (March 22nd) and the band’s camp are celebrating it with the launch of a name generator which allows you to create your own variant of sorts of the album’s iconic cover art. You can create your own logo over at Previous metal bands who have created similar logo generators include Metallica and Judas Priest.

At the height of their popularity and influence, Pantera began to self-destruct...

Read More

SLAYER – To Embark Upon Final U.S. Tour

According to one Les Claypool, SLAYER will embark upon a final U.S. tour that will feature Claypool’s band, Primus, as one of the opening acts. The dates (which have yet to be officially revealed) will apparently commence at Madison Square Garden in New York City and conclude at The Forum in Los Angeles, CA.

Claypool had this to say amid a recent appearance on Bill Burr’s podcast (you can listen above):

“There’s another thing too that’s kind of a secret but maybe I can tell you now… So it looks like we’re confirmed, we’re gonna play the last, the very last run supporting Slayer’s very last tour, Primus is… It’s starting at Madison Square Garden and ending at The Forum, that’s the rumor.”
Claypool’s assertion seems likely given this recent report that Slayer would tour North A...

Read More

ROCKET REVIEW: “The Dirt” (Movie)

The Low Budget Netflix Romp Is A Smash Success!

After watching the trailer for the long awaited Mötley Crüe biopic, I was not initially impressed. Couple that with the fact that they did not even get The Dirt into the movie theaters also got me to thinking that this was going to turn out to be a low budget stinker released straight to DVD. While they certainly were never going to compete with QUEEN’s film that won the Oscar for best actor, I feel the Crue has delivered a slamming good flick. Although it definitely has its ups and downs, just like each band member once they achieved international rock stardom in the late eighties, the overall production is actually top notch and a must see for fans of the band and rock music in general...

Read More

HAZEN – Release “Black Hole Sun” Cover

Alternative metal band, HAZEN, have uploaded a new music video for their cover of the classic SOUNDGARDEN song “Black Hole Sun,” available for streaming above.

Formed in 2017, Hazen from Gilbert, AZ raced into the Arizona Alternative Metal market by storm. They released their initial debut EP “Undone” on May 19th, 2017 which sprouted the beginning of their growth and reach in the Arizona music scene. Shortly after the release of “Undone”, the band shared the stage with bands like Kobra And The Lotus, Xandria, Letters From The Fire, Once Human, September Mourning, and Powerman 5000. On April 6th, 2018 the band released their second 5 song EP “This House” which proved to show they were nothing but ready for the years to come...

Read More

DEMONS & WIZARDS – Signs With Century Media

Century Media Records is pleased to announce the signing of legendary metal band DEMONS & WIZARDS for a worldwide collaboration. Founded in 1999 by Hansi Kürsch (Blind Guardian) and Jon Schaffer (Iced Earth), Demons & Wizards released two highly acclaimed albums Demons & Wizards (1999) and Touched by the Crimson King (2005). Currently, the band is busy recording the highly anticipated third studio album (title TBD), which is scheduled to be released in early 2020.

“It is a great pleasure and a big honor for me to finally become a full part of the Century Media family,’ states vocalist Hansi Kürsch about the signing. “Jon and I both feel that Century Media is the perfect match for our upcoming Demons & Wizards missions. And there will be plenty of them...

Read More

ENTHRONED – Debut New Single

Black metal act, ENTHRONED, are streaming the first single from their new album, Cold Black Suns, which will be released via Season Of Mist on June 7. The song, “Silent Redemption,” can be heard above.

The band comments: “We’re proud to introduce our first single, ‘Silent Redemption’, from the upcoming album, Cold Black Suns. This track unveils one of the many layers of the long awaited 11th opus. With ‘Silent Redemption’, we take you along to Aokigahara, the infamous Suicide Forest in Japan, to walk amongst the Yurei. While keeping our band’s trademark, this new album offers another pitch in the music, soaking the listener in bleak and fury.”

Enthroned is surely a name black metal fans are no strangers to...

Read More

WHITECHAPEL – New Music Video Released

WHITECHAPEL have released a video for “Hickory Creek,” a song from their upcoming album, The Valley (due out March 29). The Mathis Arnell-directed clip can be viewed above.

Since their 2007 debut, The Somatic Defilement, Whitechapel‘s output has been mired in darkness, but they have never inhabited blacker territory than where we find them on 7th full-length, The Valley. “Lyrically, emotionally, melody wise, there are not many ‘happy’ sounding parts on this record,” states guitarist Alex Wade. “Our last album, Mark of the Blade (2016) did not sound exactly ‘happy’ either, but the majority of those songs did not have much emotion or vibe behind them, they were just straightforward metal songs. These songs have a darker, more melancholic presentation to them.” With vocalist Phil Bo...

Read More

DEICIDE – North American Tour Dates

The first round of dates for the upcoming “Overtures of Blasphemy” tour featuring DEICIDE, Origin, Jungle Rot, and The Absence has been announced. The current itinerary for the North American trek is as follows:

5/11 Austin, TX @ Come And Take It Live!
5/12 Dallas, TX @ Gas Monkey Bar & Grill
5/13 El Paso, TX @ Rockhouse Bar & Grill
5/14 Mesa, AZ @ Club Red
5/15 Los Angeles, CA @ 1720
5/16 Oakland, CA @ Metro Opera House
5/18 Seattle, WA @ El Corazon
5/20 Salt Lake City, UT @ Metro Music Hall
5/22 Kansas City, MO @ The Riot Room
5/23 Chicago, IL @ Reggie’s
5/24 Cleveland, OH @ The Odeon Theater
5/25 Baltimore, MD @ Maryland Deathfest (Deicide only)
5/27 Ottawa, ON @ Mavericks
5/28 Toronto, ON @ Mod Club
5/29 Montreal, QC @ L’Astral
5/30 Quebec City, QC @ Le d’Auteuil
5/31 Manchester, NH J@ ewel Ni...

Read More

CULT OF LUNA – Signs With Metal Blade Records

Metal Blade Records is proud to welcome CULT OF LUNA to its worldwide roster.

For almost 20 years, Cult Of Luna have imposed themselves as one of the world’s leading post-metal lights. Constantly evolving, the band pushes the genre’s boundaries from album to album so as to explore the darkest and mistiest, as well as the driest and most abrupt, landscapes.

Cult Of Luna comments: “We’re thrilled to announce our collaboration with Metal Blade and the creation of our new home: Red Creek, that will handle Cult Of Luna’s future productions. This is a dawn to an exciting journey to come.”

Cult Of Luna hasn’t debuted any new material under their sole name since Vertikal (2013). In 2016, the Mariner album – which was made in collaboration with Julie Christmas (Battle Of Mice, Made Ou...

Read More

DARKTHRONE – Complete New Album

Legendary Norwegian black metal duo DARKTHRONE has announced that they have completed work on a new studio album entitled, “Old Star.” The record will be released on May 31st and contains six tracks, produced by vocalist/guitarist Nocturno Culto, with mixing handled by Sanford Parker (Voivod) at Hypercube Studios. Mastering is courtesy of Jack Control. The album can be pre-ordered here

Fenriz enthuses, “‘Old Star’ – again we are here with THE RIFFS! A while after our previous Arctic Thunder album it became apparent that we would continue in that same style, BLACK OLD HEAVY METAL with slow thrash, classic doom and slow death metal. As many have focussed on the 70s sound over the last 20 years, the mix on our new album has ended up being more 80s than ever...

Read More