April 17, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!



MOTÖRHEAD led by legendary bassist/vocalist Lemmy Kilmister slams their musical fists down in 2013 with the surprisingly kick ass studio effort entitled Aftershock. I wasn’t expecting too much with the fact that Lemmy has been dealing with serious illness problems as of late and is starting to have to deal with the sad fact that retirement looms near. Damn, nothing worse than picturing an old Lemmy wasting away in a rocking chair. At 67 years of age, Lemmy does not have anything left to prove. But I’m sure the first question any fan will ask is does he still have anything left in the gas tank after all these years of assaulting the world with his raging bass guitar and alcohol/cigarette ravaged voice.

The legendary band’s 21st studio album kicks off with the high energy “Heartbreaker”, and simply takes off from there with the totally slamming “Coup De Grace”, “Lost Woman Blues”, and “End Of Time”, followed by the rocking to the max “Do You Believe”. My personal favorite comes next, track six’s “Death Machine, which clearly harkens back to the early sound on the classic Ace of Spades album.

They slow it down for a moment to take some shots I suppose with the mellow but cool as all hell “Dust and Glass”, only to turn shit up even crazier than before on track nine’s “Going To Mexico”. A great grooving rhythm and drumming takes the next cut “Silence When You Speak To Me” to the next level.

Old fans of this band will be blown away at how great this album is. I definitely feel it is easily one of the year’s best metal albums. It looks like the music world won’t be seeing Lemmy roll over and die so easy. This album is a testament to just how hardcore this motherfucker truly is and should be heard by all heavy music lovers.


[starreview tpl=16]
MOTÖRHEAD – “Aftershock” (CD)


1. Heartbreaker
2. Coup De Grace
3. Lost Woman Blues
4. End Of Time
5. Do You Believe
6. Death Machine
7. Dust And Glass
8. Going To Mexico
9. Silence When You Speak To Me
10. Crying Shame
11. Queen Of The Damned
12. Knife
13. Keep Your Powder Dry
14. Paralyzed