May 27, 2024 Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

ROCKET REVIEW: GWAR – “Battle Maximus” (CD)


GWAR unload their 13th studio album entitled “Battle Maximus” in 2013 and this reviewer feels they have delivered yet another classic to the masses. The record was made at the band’s very own Slave Pit Studios, having been mixed by veteran metal producer Glen Robinson and mastered by Howie Weinberg. They waste no time at all jamming out their comedic punk-pissed antics on the opener tracks “Madness at the Core of Time” and the over the top rocking “Bloodbath”, which has vocalist Dave Brockie (Oderus Urungus) shouting, “I saw a dead body on the side of the road.”

The drumming on track four’s “Nothing Left Alive” by Brad Roberts (Jizmak Da Gusha) is worth the price of admission alone. Rarely do I ever say the drummer steals the song from the rest of the band, but this dude is working extra hard to slam their unrelenting form of sonic mayhem into your skull.

New guitarist Brent Purgason (formerly from Cannabis Corpse), portraying the new character Pustulus Maximus does a great job throughout the 12 rampaging tracks himself, taking over after the death of Cory Smoot (Flattus Maximus). My favorite tracks are the utterly annihilating “Torture”, “Raped at Birth”, and the title track “Battle Maximus”. The drumming and guitars on the latter are on fire and if they get any hotter beams would shoot out their instruments and destroy planet earth. Even their new bassist provides some cool fills that most extreme bands don’t ever do, so that’s totally cool to hear. My favorite cut, however, is clearly “Triumph of the Pig Children”, which has the best overall chorus and riffs. All I’m going to say in the end is you all better prepare to be exploded through your bedroom wall when listening to this masterpiece of metal.


[starreview tpl=16]
GWAR – “Battle Maximus” (CD)

(Metal Blade Records/2013)

1 – Intro
2 – Madness at the Core of Time
3 – Bloodbath
4 – Nothing Left Alive
5 – They Swallowed the Sun
6 – Torture
7 – Raped at Birth
8 – I, Bonesnapper
9 – Mr. Perfect
10 – Battle Maximus
11 – Triumph of the Pig Children
12 – Falling
13 – Fly Now