May 19, 2024 Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!



Edison, New Jersey (USA) metal act MUTINY WITHIN have released a more than triumphant debut via Roadrunner Records with Awake, an eleven song assault of powerfully played progressive metal.
On the opening title track, the listener is treated to a complex and literally ‘mutant-like’ technical display of musicianship, clearly influenced by the likes of Meshuggah and Dream Theater. Vocalist Chris Clancy is quite the discovery with a tremendous vocal range that has to be heard to be believed. He sings with some serious emotion: “Sorrow breaks me down, It’s crushing me tonight, But I feel alive.” Track two’s “Images” offers some killer riff/solo work from Daniel Bage and Brandon Jacobs on guitars, and also features the ‘freakishly’ skilled bass playing from Andrew Jacobs. Clancy’s vocals seem to get stronger and stronger with each song and is at its most powerful on the standout tracks “Forsaken” and “Suffocate”. This is a young band that has a great future if they can continue to grow in all areas of songwriting and live performance. This reviewer definitely got the ‘shot in the arm’ that was needed from MUTINY WITHIN’s Awake.


[starreview tpl=16] MUTINY WITHIN – “Awake” (CD)

(Roadrunner Records/2010)

1. Awake
2. Images
3. Falling Forever
4. Year Of Affliction
5. Forsaken
6. Lethean
7. Oblivion
8. Undone
9. Hours
10. Suffocate
11. Reflections