July 25, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

DERHEAD – Drop “The Death of Now” Single

“The Grey Zone Phobia” is the fifth release by Avantgarde Black Metal project DERHEAD and it will be released via Brucia Records in digital and 6 panels Digipack CD format on March 30, 2023.

The first single “The Death of Now” is now streaming at Machine Music.

After the critically acclaimed “Irrational I”, DERHEAD is back with its very own distinctive take on Avantgarde Black Metal, this time contaminated by an incredibly heterogeneous range of sounds spacing from Doom / Gothic Metal to what Satyricon released during the “Rebel Extravaganza” era.

Much like with the previous EP, “The Grey Zone Phobia” offers a meditation about the contrasting nature of our place within the cogwheels of time, leading us to contemplate the contrast between reality and our inner self, and between memories and dreams. Lyrics draw inspiration from various sources including the work by philosophers such as Henri Bergson, relativity studies and fuzzy logic, and far from proposing ready-made answers they in fact underline the complexity of our existence, inviting us to go beyond the apparent dichotomy of black and white and on to face the “grey area”, which ultimately is life itself.

The fantastic original artwork made by Cesare Bignotti (who also lent his vision to the previous two releases of DERHEAD) further expands upon the main themes of the album: images have been taken with a long exposure technique similar to what was used with Dadaist and Futurist photography, and films developed without any artificial effects in post-production, in order to tell an honest and transparent story about the place we as human beings occupy within the abstract instance known as Time.

“The Grey Zone Phobia”
 is a multifaceted album that does not try to be forcibly eccentric, but flows effortlessly mixing raw and aggressive riffs with the epic grandeur of more sophisticated and slower parts, keeping listeners on the edge of their seats for its whole duration.

FFO: The Great Old Ones, Moonreich, Blut Aus Nord

Album tracklist:1 – The missing stars – 6.21
2 – This chaos is for you only – 5.37
3 – The death of Now – 7.00
4 – Kingdomless – 6.17
5 – Drops of storm – 6.09
6 – Containing the whole – 5.48

DERHEAD is a solo project from Genoa (Italy). The project was created in 2001 by Giorgio Barroccu, a multi – instrumentalist active for many years in various projects and also founder and co-owner of Brucia Records.

From the first demo recorded in 2003 and influenced by the industrial, experimental black metal typical of those years, Derhead has in time developed its very unique style – mixing aggressive riffs to more atmospheric passages.

The second demo released in 2013 already showed signs of compositional maturity and balance which were then refined in the project’s first EP “Via” released in 2016.

In 2020 DERHEAD released its second EP “Irrational I” to critical acclaim, with the release being especially praised by the press for its unique songwriting and emotional intensity.

On March 30th, 2023
 – DERHEAD will release its first full-length album “The Grey Zone Phobia” on digital and digipak CD via Brucia Records.


Brucia Recordshttps://www.bruciarecords.comhttps://bruciarecords.bandcamp.com