June 20, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

PELICAN – Release Live Album

PELICAN have postponed their June tour dates in Europe with Inter Arma. As what they call a “very minor consolation” for the postponement, the band have released a new live album recorded in Cleveland, Ohio last year.

You can stream and/or purchase the album HERE.

“A primarily instrumental post-metal act who use extended compositions to explore the texture and timbre of heavy noise, Pelican can be crushingly heavy or ethereal within the same song. Based out of Chicago, the group emerged in 2001 and released their debut album, Australasia, in 2003. They continued to explore the outer reaches of stoner rock, doom, and post-metal on acclaimed subsequent outings like City of Echoes (2007), Forever Becoming (2013), and Nighttime Stories (2019). The secretive instrumental art metal outfit was formed in Chicago by guitarists Trevor de Brauw and Laurent Lebec, as well as bassist Larry Herweg and his sibling drummer, Bryan. Owing a great debt to pioneering forefathers Neurosis and often compared to Boston’s Isis, Pelican coincidentally also found a home at Isis mastermind Aaron Turner’s Hydra Head Records. After making their debut with an eponymous four-song EP in 2003, Pelican expanded their epic, otherworldly trance-metal with 2003’s critically acclaimed Australasia, followed in 2004 by The Fire in Our Throats Will Beckon the Thaw. After heavy touring, the quartet took a much-deserved break. They returned to the studio in 2006 and released City of Echoes in June 2007, followed by the concert LP/film After the Ceiling Cracked later that December. What We All Come to Need, the band’s fourth studio effort, appeared in 2009. While an EP, Ataraxia/Taraxis, arrived in 2012, that year would see the departure of Laurent Lebec, who was replaced by touring guitarist Dallas Thomas. Carrying on with a new lineup, the band released their fifth full-length, Forever Becoming, in 2013.” – All Music