April 13, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

VESPERIA – Wins Wacken Metal Battle


Wacken Metal Battle Canada have announced that this year’s international champions are Canada’s best! VESPERIA have been crowned the 2015 international champions of 11th annual Wacken Metal Battle during the world’s largest metal festival Wacken Open Air (July 30 – August 1) in Wacken Germany, which has an attendance of over 80,000 people. Vesperia beat out 30 other competing countries (full list here) to win over international judges and fans. Plus it also marks out of the last 3 years Canada has participated in the competition, they have taken 1st place with Crimson Shadows winning in 2013.

“We are extremely excited to accept the title of the 2015 international Wacken battle champions. There have been many ups and downs on this trip so far, but we have encountered so many amazing people, bands, press and organizers. Thank you SO MUCH for making this happen for us!” comments bassist/ vocalist Morgan Rider.

Top 5 Standings:

1st Place: Canada – Vesperia
2nd Place: Israel – Walkways
3rd Place: Middle East – Blaakyum
4th Place: United Kingdom – Metaprism
5th Place: Denmark – Savage Machine

As 1st place winners, Vesperia will receive the following:

Wacken Foundation – The Wacken Foundation will support the first placed band with a trophy money of 5000€.
Vision backdrops
Stage kit
5 x 3 m backdrop
2 sideups 85 x 200 cm

Bass drum print
Pearl – Complete Pearl VBA kit
Washburn – Washburn PXS20FRTBB
Randall – Randall RD5H
Markbass – Little Mark III
Carl Martin – CARL MARTIN Single Plexitone
Paiste – Alpha Brillant Metal Set 14/17/18/20+10Splash*
Marshall – Marshall Fridge

Vesperia was crowned 2015 Canadian champion after performing in the national final alongside Medevil (Vancouver), Bleed (Edmonton), Endless Chaos (Winnipeg), Midnight Malice (Toronto), Nordheim (Quebec City) who represented the top six metal talents out of 120 competing bands from ten participating cities across Canada. The final took place on June 6th at Opera House in Toronto, ON and was judged by Annihilator’s Jeff Waters and Mike Harshaw, Lindsay Schoolcraft (Cradle of Filth), Tim Henderson (BraveWords), David Bottrill (Producer, Mixer) and Noel Peters (Inertia Entertainment).

Source: BW&BK