July 21, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

ROCKET REVIEW: CATTLE DECAPITATION – “The Anthropocene Extinction” (CD)

TMD Rocks!

San Diego, California deathgrind band, CATTLE DECAPITATION, are set to unleash their seventh studio album called “The Anthropocene Extinction” via Metal Blade Records on August 7th, 2015. This collection of twelve crushing tracks will please the most devoted fans and certainly help to win over anyone that is still on the fence. Travis Ryan undoubtedly throws down a truly wicked singing performance. You will be hard pressed to find a more pissed off sounding human being than this dude. The chaos kicks off with the technically brilliant “Manufactured Extinct”, that finds Dave McGraw unleashing the most devastating onslaught of blastbeat drumming you will ever hear. What I dig about Ryan’s vocal approach for this record is that he mixes singing in a higher range with the lower gutteral roars.

Legendary vocalist Philip H. Anselmo (PANTERA/DOWN/SUPERJOINT) does a spoken-word guest appearance on the second cut “The Prophets Of Loss”. Things only get better from here. Track three’s “Plagueborne” is totally on another level completely, followed by “Clandestine Ways (Krokodil Rot)”, my favorite song to this point. The guitar solo played on this song by Josh Elmore is short but very creative shredding. Up next the psychotic display of extreme metal continues with “Circo Inhumanitas”, the one minute in length instrumental “The Burden Of Seven Billion”, and the absolutely masterful “Mammals In Babylon”.

The greatness never slows up – it only increases – next they hammer “Mutual Assured Destruction” right between your eyes, then “Not Suitable For Life”, and “Apex Blasphemy”. The final two cuts are just as stellar, “Ave Exitium” and the last song entitled “Pacific Grim”, in which Jurgen Bartsch of BETHLEHEM adds a spoken-word piece in his native tongue.



– “The Anthropocene Extinction” (CD)

(Metal Blade Records/2015)

01. Manufactured Extinct
02. The Prophets of Loss
03. Plagueborne
04. Clandestine Ways (Krokodil Rot)
05. Circo Inhumanitas
06. The Burden Of Seven Billion
07. Mammals In Babylon
08. Mutual Assured Destruction
09. Not Suitable For Life
10. Apex Blasphemy
11. Ave Exitium
12. Pacific Grim