July 25, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

ROCKET REVIEW: GOATWHORE – “Constricting Rage Of The Merciless” (CD)


American blackened death metal unit GOATWHORE have released their sixth studio album in 2014 titled “Constricting Rage Of The Merciless”. Produced by Erik Rutan, the listener will be treated to ten well-crafted cuts from one of the darkest bands going in heavy music today. Vocalist Louis Benjamin Falgoust II sounds absolutely wretched next to the fast, jagged riffs of guitarist Sammy Duet (Ex-ACID BATH). The wickedness kicks off with the first three jamming as all hell tracks “Poisonous Existence in Reawakening”, “Unraveling Paradise” and the totally rocking “Baring Teeth for Revolt”. The guitar solo included in the latter all out blazes and will surely have you picking your melted face up off the floor.

Zack Simmons’ blast beat drumming will no doubt get your head banging like a mad person and the grooving bass playing by James Harvey helps hold down the speeding rhythm section of pure brutality. Up next, the furious momentum contines with track four’s “Reanimated Sacrifice”, followed by track five’s punishing “Heaven’s Crumbling Walls of Pity”. My favorite song is “Cold Earth Consumed in Dying Flesh”. What a beast of a tune. This is by far the best cut on the album. It has a slow, creepy instrumental opener and then the vocals kick in with a totally classic, death metal roar by Falgoust. How sick are the lyrics on this album? On track seven’s “FBS” Falgoust sings: “Exposed remains, left in decay, inversion of this altar of Christ”.

The album concludes with the next three tracks “Nocturnal Conjuration of the Accursed”, “Schadenfruede”, and “Externalize This Hidden Savagery”. They each certainly hold their own with the rest of the collection of ass kickers. Any fans of VENOM and HELLHAMMER will love what this band is doing, so if you’re into evil extreme metal done really well this is a solid one to add to your collection.

Rocket Rules!

[starreview tpl=16]
“Constricting Rage Of The Merciless”

(Metal Blade Records/2014)

1. Poisonous Existence in Reawakening
2. Unraveling Paradise
3. Baring Teeth for Revolt
4. Reanimated Sacrifice
5. Heaven’s Crumbling Walls of Pity
6. Cold Earth Consumed in Dying Flesh
7. FBS
8. Nocturnal Conjuration of the Accursed
9. Schadenfruede
10. Externalize This Hidden Savagery