June 21, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

MARTYRED – Debut Album “The Relegation” Coming in October

On October 20th internationally, Time To Kill Records is proud to present MARTYRED‘s highly anticipated debut album, “The Relegation”, on CD, MC, digital and vinyl LP formats.

The first single “Iniquitous Transformation” was recently premiered via Metal Injection. Stream it HERE / HERE!


1. Shadows of Deception
2. Sadist Globe
3. Iniquitous Transformation
4. Baneful Scorn
5. Relegation
6. Divine Pestilence
7. Toxic Transmissions
8. Carnage Incarnate

Guitarist Mike DeBord states: “‘The Relegation’ is something that we’ve been working on for roughly the last couple of years. With this being our first full length album following two previously self released EPs, ‘Exemplifying Their Defeat’ and ‘Dawn of Terror’, we wanted to make sure that this effort stayed true to the Martyred recipe, but also allowed us to showcase the evolution of the band as well. During the time between the last release and working on this one we were able to harness our individual darker times & experiences, and translate them into this in the most honest and brutal way we could… as a band I believe that’s what we have done with ‘The Relegation’.

I think the addition of Jason Frankhouser writing on this album will be the most noticeable difference on this one. He wrote 2 songs, I wrote 2 and we co-wrote the others. I think his writing style gelled really well with mine and he has been a great fit. He wrote solos on the Dawn of Terror EP, but this is the first with rhythm contributions and it’s worked out quite well. On a personal level he is a hard working dude touring as FOH sound for Bob Dylan and others. I would also like to say bringing on Rene Martinez on drums has brought a lot of power to the sound. Rene is an extremely driven guy who worked his tail off on this. He dedicated a lot of time as we all did, but he was determined to push himself to the limit on this. Metal is in Rene’s blood and he lives to play and be active as he has in his other Bands, Stabbing & Flesh Hoarder. I think the combination of all of our styles and different backgrounds has made it what it is and I’m excited for people to hear it”.

Produced by MARTYRED and mixed and mastered by Juan Urteaga at Trident Recording Studio (Cattle Decapitation, Exhumed), “The Relegation” is accompanied by an artwork from Jon Zig (Disgorge, Defeated Sanity) with additional graphic layout by Bob Toderico (Asphyx, Pestilence).

MARTYRED successfully merges a more contemporary sound with the purest old-school death metal influences and spirit.

Formed in 2003, by founding guitarist Mike DeBord, MARTYRED went on hiatus in 2010 and reformed in 2017. The band currently consists of Krieg Penny – Vocals, Mike DeBord – Guitars, Jason Frankhouser – Guitars, Stephen Fernandez – Bass, Rene Martinez – Drums. The group is known for their razor grinding guitars mixed with blackened thrash elements and often abstract time signatures, characterized by blast beats, complex riffing, and pit style hook riffs. Additionally, their reality-based lyrics characterized by war themes and mental trauma that are notable in death metal. Various line-up changes throughout the years have left Mike DeBord as the sole remaining original member, as well as the band’s driving force. To date, MARTYRED has released 3 EPs and a full length album to be released this fall 2022.


Krieg Penny – Vocals
Mike DeBord – Guitars
Jason Frankhouser – Guitars
Stephen Fernandez – Bass
Rene Martinez – Drums