June 14, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

OBSCURA – All But One Band Member Quits

German technical/progressive metal act OBSCURA have announced the departure of all of its members except for frontman, co-founder, and lyricist Steffen Kummerer.

The other three members — guitarist Rafael Trujillo, bassist Linus Klausenitzer and drummer Sebastian Lanser — have exited the band “due to musical differences” and launched their own group, Obsidious.

Kummerer comments: “Firstly, I would like to thank our former members Rafael Trujillo, Linus Klausenitzer and Sebastian Lanser for their dedication during the last years. Now, 2020, a new chapter for Obscura begins with entering Woodshed Studios this Summer to produce our sixth full-length record, and the first album for our new label Nuclear Blast. The new lineup will be revealed shortly.”

“I’m really thankful for the amazing experiences I have made over the last couple of years and all people who have supported me on that path. Leaving something behind opens new opportunities,” says Trujillo.

Klausenitzer offers, “no one except Steffen has been in the band longer than I have, so you can imagine that this was not an easy decision for me. However, for us, this is the beginning of a musical journey that I’m sure you will enjoy.”

Finally, Lanser had this to say: “Time has come for me to move on and pursue new musical adventures. A big ‘Thank You’ to all our fans around the world for the amazing support – you rock! I am sure we will meet again at some point in the future.”