June 20, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT – New Album Details Revealed


DEVIN TOWNSEND PROJECT have announced the release of their new studio album Transcendence for September 2nd worldwide. Devin comments: “Transcendence, like every record I’ve done prior, is an extension of what’s been going on in my world, represented in a new batch of songs. I’m 44 years old now, and this is where I have been over the past two years since Z2.”

The follow-up to 2014’s Z2 double-album (half of which was made up of the DTP full-length Sky Blue), sees the award-winning Townsend exploring a relatively new way of working, collaborating with the entire DTP band during the writing stages of the record. “The result of this process is a record that I truly think the intention of is special” he says of the album. “I ‘found’ gas to put into the tank and am glad I did. I think the intention, the theme, and the participation of everyone involved allows this album to act like a fulcrum between the past few years and what I intend to do next with the symphony. I am very proud of it and everyone involved.”

The artwork was once again created by Anthony Clarkson, who Devin has been working with for several years now. Townsend comments of the cover (above): “He presented me the main image of the girl as a painted version, and I was intrigued and asked him to redo it with a girl he knew with photos. I liked the idea that it seemed like a mash up of religious and spiritual imagery, in a sense, representing the idea (to me) that these types of connections to the infinite are often more like identities we can cling to rather than what lies behind. In a sense, the character on the front almost seems like the ideologies she’s representing are more ‘brand names’ than anything else.”

Devin Townsend Project has also announced a North American tour to coincide with the album’s release, which will see them co-headline with progressive metallers Between The Buried & Me with main support offered on all dates by Fallujah. Tickets will be on sale on Friday, May 20th at 10 AM, local time online or through local venue ticket outlets.

9 – Nashville, TN – Marathon Music Works
10 – Charleston, SC – Music Farm
11 – Orlando, FL – The Plaza
12 – Charlotte, NC – Amos’ Southend
13 – Silver Spring, MD – The Fillmore Silver Spring
15 – Philadelphia, PA – Theatre Of Living Arts
16 – New York, NY – Playstation Theater
17 – Worcester, MA – The Palladium +Sabaton
21 – Columbus, OH – Newport Music Hall
22 – Detroit, MI – St. Andrews Hall
23 – Chicago, IL – House of Blues
24 – Grand Rapids, MI – The Intersection
25 – Louisville, KY – Mercury Ballroom
27 – New Orleans, LA – The Joy Theater
29 – Dallas, TX – Gas Monkey Live

5 – San Francisco, CA – The Regency Ballroom
6 – Los Angeles, CA – The Novo
7 – Tempe, AZ – The Marquee
8 – Las Vegas, NV – Brooklyn Bowl * no DTP
9 – Sacramento, CA – Ace of Spades
11 – Boise, ID – Knitting Factory * no DTP
12 – Spokane, WA – Knitting Factory
13 – Portland, OR – Crystal Ballroom
14 – Seattle, WA – Studio Seven

Between the Buried and Me will be performing their most recent album, Coma Ecliptic, in its entirety on this tour. This will be the first time the album will be performed live in full.

Bassist Dan Briggs offers his thoughts and says: “The songs on Coma Ecliptic came together in 2014 (and some of them even earlier than that), so it feels amazing to finally present the album live in full, the way it was intended to be heard. It’s our most theatrical album yet and we’ll be looking to bring that element to the stage as best we can; not to mention how great it will be to share the stage with Devin + crew again.”

Meanwhile, Devin Townsend Project have also announced a string of dates prior to the above mentioned tour, also with support from Fallujah.

2 – Hell Raiser Festival – Kelowna, BC
3 – The Gateway – Calgary, AB
4 – Starlite Room – Edmonton, AB
6 – Pyramid Cabaret – Winnipeg, MA
7 – Mill City Nights – Minneapolis, MN

Source: BW&BK