July 21, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

ROCKET REVIEW: EXODUS – “Blood In, Blood Out” (CD)


Legendary American thrash band EXODUS returns in 2014 with one of their finest releases in years, entitled “Blood In, Blood Out”. Released via Nuclear Blast Records, their eleventh studio effort throws down eleven absolutely slamming cuts, featuring vocalist Steve “Zetro” Souza back in the lineup – in place of Rob Dukes. Old school fans will love what they hear. Zetro sounds more vicious than ever, and if you have been listening to his recent work in Hatriot the past few years you know that he’s still got the pipes.

The riffs are heavy and in your face, thanks to Gary Holt and Lee Altus, starting off with the hard hitting tracks “Black 13”, the title song “Blood In, Blood Out” and “Collateral Damage”. Up next is the rocking as all shit “Salt the Wound”, which has a guest appearance by METALLICA’s Kirk Hammett. This is followed by “Body Harvest”, “Btk” (feat. TESTAMENT’s Chuck Billy), and my personal favorite “Wrapped in the Arms of Rage”. The feel of the writing and overall production is more along the lines of the earlier classics “Fabulous Disaster” and “Tempo of the Damned”. However, it’s not as modern sounding as the Dukes era material but let me be totally straight up, this is the best version of EXODUS, without a doubt. Jack Gibson on bass and drummer Tom Hunting hold down the rhythm section all throughout in total beast mode.

The rampage of thrash greatness continues on definite pit starters “My Last Nerve”, “Numb”, and “Honor Killings”. The album concludes with the final track “Food for the Worms”, and it’s faster than shit. What better way to end the album? Any fan of metal music will want to add “Blood In, Blood Out” to their collection.


[starreview tpl=16]
EXODUS – “Blood In, Blood Out”

(Nuclear Blast/2014)

1. Black 13
2. Blood In, Blood Out
3. Collateral Damage
4. Salt the Wound
5. Body Harvest
6. Btk
7. Wrapped in the Arms of Rage
8. My Last Nerve
9. Numb
10. Honor Killings
11. Food for the Worms