July 25, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

SONATA ARCTICA – Part Ways With Bassist


Marko Paasikoski, bassist for SONATA ARCTICA, has split with the band. He sites the fact that he wishes to explore other things as the option to be part of a touring band no longer exists. Replacing Paasikoski will be Winterborn bassist Pasi Kauppinen.

The band will enter the studio in October to record the follow up to the latest album “Stones Grow Her Name” (see review here). The new release is targeted for a Spring 2014 release.

The announcement reads: “It’s with much sadness and heavy hearts that we have to announce that our bass player for the past decade Marko Paasikoski is no longer in the band.”

“States Marko:

‘I have come to a situation in my life where being a part of a touring band is not an option for me anymore and it’s time to explore other things. I wish to thank all the fans and my bandmates for all the good times, great shows and adventures that we have had over the last decade.

‘The memories from this time will stay with me forever but at the moment I don’t have the motivation or the passion that is required to be in the band so it’s better for all parties involved that we go our separate ways. I wish all the best for the guys ! -Marko’

“We understand Marko’s decision and this is of course a thing that we have talked about during the last tour. We appreciate Marko being a stand up guy and finishing up the Stones Grow Her Name- World Tour. Thank you Marko for all these years and best of luck and fortunes with your future endeaveurs, we’ll miss you bro !!

“Our new bass player is Pasi Kauppinen (Silent Voices, ex-Requiem, Winterborn). We’ve known him for many years and he has mixed both our DVDs as well as recorded parts of our last 3 studio albums. He will join the band starting with the upcoming album.

“Sonata Arctica will start rehearsing in September and enter the studio in October. The new studio album will be out next spring with a world tour to follow.”

Source: Metalunderground