March 4, 2024

The Metal Den

Bringing Metal To The Masses: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

THE RESISTANCE – New Album Details Revealed


Swedish metal collective, THE RESISTANCE, will unleash their full-length debut on May 14th in North America. Fittingly titled Scars, the ravaging 12-track follow-up to the last year’s Rise From Treason teaser EP is an old-school death metal flashback that brings listeners to a time when bands like Entombed, Grave and Dismember proved how insanely brutal yet immensely captivating and technically adept extreme music can be.

With a lineup as heavy as their musical adventure, THE RESISTANCE features within its ranks some of Scandinavia’s most esteemed musicians with In Flames’ founder (and main songwriter until his departure in 2010) Jesper Strömblad on guitar alongside second guitarist Glenn Ljungström (ex-In Flames), vocalist Marco Aro (ex-The Haunted, Facedown) and drummer Chris Barkensjö (ex-Kaamos, ex-Repugnant).

“If you listen to Entombed’s Left Hand Path today, it still blows everything away. And it’s over 20 years old,” says Strömblad, the main musical force behind Stockholm/Gothenburg based squad. As for the outcome of Scars, Strömblad sums it up simply: “It’s just awesome death metal!”

CD, vinyl and digital versions of Scars will be available via Eagle Rock imprint Armoury Records, in conjunction with Hamburg, Germany-based earMUSIC. Further details to be revealed in the coming weeks. In the meantime, check out the cover art at THIS LOCATION.

Scars Track Listing:

01. Clearing The Slate

02. Your Demise

03. To The Death

04. Expand To Expire

05. Imperfected

06. I Bend – You Break

07. The Serpent King

08. Eye For An Eye

09. My Madness

10. Warmonger

11. Scars

12. (I Will) Die Alone

“Rock solid and ultra-tight death/trash metal.” – Rocktribune Belgium

“Perfectly written, played and produced… Energy in excess” — Rock Hard Germany

“This is Swedish death metal at its finest – uncompromising, both catchy and punishing and taking no prisoners.“ — Big Cheese UK

”… a killer new release.” — Sea Of Tranquility USA

“…killer riffs, pounding drums and strong, shouting vocals that hit you right in the face.” — Metal Kaoz US