June 21, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

VOIVOD – Launch Warriors Of Ice Live Album!


Canadian metal act VOIVOD has launched Warriors Of Ice, a live album recorded in Montreal. The album is now available digitally and the physical release date is set for June 14th via Indica Records.

This unique band who over the years have been able to create their own sound and path, who braved adversity and hardships – notably the death of Denis Piggy D’Amour in 2005 – are offering to their fans their first ever live record to feature original members Denis “Snake” Belanger, Michel “Away” Langevin and Jean Yves “Blacky” Theriault, and new guitar player Daniel Mongrain, thus adding onto their impressive discography that spans close to three decades.

Glen Robinson, who is renown for his work on ‘Nothingface’, recorded Voivod’s concert on December 12th 2009 at Club Soda in Montreal, the band’s adopted hometown. The concert was the first headline show in Montreal in over 10 years and was a release party for the DVD Tatsumaki Live In Japan, where they played both classics from the 80s and 90s and newer songs written with Jason Newsted of METALLICA fame, who joined Voivod on bass for 3 records, Voivod, Katorz and Infini.

On Warriors Of Ice, the listeners can hear Voivod’s more classical sound as they did on War And Pain in 1984 or Angel Rat in 1991 as well as tracks from Infini, released in 2009. All of the band’s greatest hits can be found on this record, everything from ‘Voivod’ to ‘Nuclear War’ and ‘Tribal Conversations’ and even their remake of early PINK FLOYD, ‘Astronomy Domine’, thus making this record a must-have for die-hard Voivod fans as well as a great introductory album for new fans in the making.

Voivod is currently on tour across Europe until late May and will be coming back to North America just in time for the festival season. Tour dates to be announced shortly, stay tuned.

Warriors Of Ice tracklisting:

‘The Unknown Knows’
‘The Prow’
‘Ripping Headaches’
‘Ravenous Medicine’
‘Tribal Convictions’
‘Global Warning’
‘Treasure Chase’
‘Brain Scan’
‘Nuclear War’
‘Astronomy Domine’

Source: Metalrules