June 21, 2024

TheMetalDen.com: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

BRAIN DRILL – New Album Details


Santa Cruz, CA (USA) technical death grinders BRAIN DRILL have just released the track listing for their upcoming sophomore release, Quantum Catastrophe, which hits streets on May 11th and will undoubtedly be met by great praise by fans and media alike.

Quantum Catastrophe track listing:

1. Obliteration Untold
2. Beyond Bludgeoned
3. Awaiting Imminent Destruction
4. Nemesis of Neglect
5. Entity of Extinction
6. Mercy to None
7. Monumental Failure
8. Quantum Catastrophe

In preparation for the release of Quantum Catastrophe and the band’s first music video for the album, Brain Drill has posted a new track on their MySpace page. The new track is “Beyond Bludgeoned,” which the band filmed a video for back in February out in the San Joaquin Delta/Rio Vista, CA area. The video for Beyond Bludgeoned was directed by Nikko DeLuna and shot by Justin Potter. Stay tuned for when and where the video will be premiered.

Brain Drill will once again take fans on a mind-melting voyage through the boundaries of exactly how incredible technical death metal can be. Quantum Catastrophe continues to push the band to their physical limits while somehow still exhibiting their trademark and infectious hook-laden riffs. Fan should expect an exponentially more technical and brutal release than they got with the band’s Metal Blade debut Apocalyptic Feasting. The song structures are way more over the top than before and the riffs catchier than before, which was a natural progression for the band as Brain Drill’s goal is to push the limits of what they can do musically and technically. With Quantum Catastrophe, Brain Drill truly does push themselves to the limits.

Quantum Catastrophe was recorded at Castle Ultimate Studios in Oakland, CA with Zach Ohren, who handled engineering mastering and produced the album along with the band. Bassist Ivan Munguia got to show off his guitar skills on the tracks “Mercy to None” and “Awaiting Imminent Destruction” which he wrote and recorded.

Vocalist Steve Rathjen explains the concept behind Quantum Catastrophe: “Universal decimation (black holes, galactic cosmic radiation), pandemic disease and zombie re-awakenings – mankind is entering an age of mass speculation as foreseen by numerous ancient cultures. Space to all humanity still primarily remains a mystery even in our days of immense technological advancements. We know this void is filled with infinite extremities which could occur at any instant; easily decimating all habitations. We also know our planet has fulfilled these mass extinctions time and again centuries in the past. The question which remains, are we due for another apocalyptic transition?”

Guitarist Dylan Ruskin adds some insight into the musical process: “The album was definitely a huge accomplishment in the chronicling of the drill. The musical dynamics and skill level of everyone in the band have improved much more than the previous album. The songs are more technical and musically diverse but are also well balanced and catchy.”

Quantum Catastrophe again features cover art by Par Olofsson. The over the top cover art perfectly complements the nearly unbelievable musicianship present on the record.