February 28, 2024

The Metal Den

Bringing Metal To The Masses: Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!

VIO-LENCE – To Release New EP In 2021

VIO-LENCE have revealed that they will enter Trident Studios in Pacheco California on January 18th to begin tracking their new EP. The band will be tracking the outing with that studio’s owner, Juan Urteaga (Machine Head, Exodus) behind the boards. The group announced the news via social media.

Vio-lence formed under the name Death Penalty in 1985 which they changed to Violence, and then the two-tiered logo with hyphen forced the name change to its permanent form.

The original line-up was Jerry Birr on vocals, Phil Demmel and Troy Fua on guitars, Eddie Billy (brother of Testament’s Chuck Billy) on bass, and Perry Strickland on drums. This line-up appeared on the ’86 Eastern Front: Live at Ruthie’s Inn 2LP compilation with the song “Gutterslut”. Eddie Billy left soon and was replaced by Dean Dell. This line-up recorded a rehearsal tape that was released as a demo.

Jerry Birr (later to appear in Enemy Mind) was replaced by Sean Killian on vocals and the band recorded their first official demo before Troy Fua left and was replaced by Forbidden Evil founding member Robb Flynn in early 1987.

The band re-recorded all the songs on their first demo for a second one in 1988 with minor lyrical changes and new song titles for their Mechanic Records demo in 1988. This label released their debut, Eternal Nightmare, later that year. A tour with Testament and Sanctuary followed, and then another tour with Voivod followed by a second album, Oppressing the Masses, in 1990.