May 18, 2024 Over 100 Million Organic Impressions On Facebook In 2023!


Legendary American thrash metal band, OVERKILL, returns in 2019 with their 19th studio album titled “The Wings Of War.” It is the first to feature new drummer, Jason Bittner, and fans will not be disappointed in the final product. The last few albums have seen the band somehow continue to develop the heaviest sound in extreme metal, led by vocalist, Bobby “Blitz” Ellsworth”, and although Ron Lipnicki is no longer behind the drums, this album is a testimony to how truly great these dudes are, in my opinion. This album is better than the last three, easily. And I love each of those albums for the raw, kick your ass over and over again delivery.

It all kicks off with the totally slamming “Last Man Standing.” “Blitz” and the boys are as tight as ever and ready to decimate the heavy music landscape. This gem is followed by the absolutely pummeling “Believe In The Fight” and the stellar “Head Of A Pin.”

Up next is my personal favorite on the album, “Batshitcrazy”, followed by the absolutely jamming “Distortion”, featuring some killer soloing on the guitar by Dave Linsk. D.D. Verni on bass and Derek “The Skull” Tailer on rhythm guitar are locked in together perfectly on each cut. The album’s awesome momentum does not slow down with the next few head crusher’s, “A Mother’s Prayer”, “Welcome to the Garden State”, and the jamming “Where Few Dare To Walk.” The album concludes with the brutally good “Out on the Road-Kill” and “Hole in My Soul.”


OVERKILL – “The Wings Of War” (CD)

(Nuclear Blast/2019)

01. Last Man Standing
02. Believe in the Fight
03. Head of a Pin
04. Batshitcrazy
05. Distortion
06. A Mother’s Prayer
07. Welcome to the Garden State
08. Where Few Dare to Walk
09. Out on the Road-Kill
10. Hole in My Soul